2015 Praxis Award winners

06 Dec 2015 8:18 PM | Terry Redding

WAPA would like to congratulate the four recipients (co-winners and two honorable mentions) of the 2015 Praxis Award.

Past WAPA President and longtime member Mari Clarke and her team received the award for their project "Improving Awareness and Technical Skills in Road Maintenance within the Third Rural Transport Project, Vietnam."

The Praxis Award also went to Stephen Weidlich and the AECOM team  for their entry, "Little Saigon Design Guidelines" in San Diego, CA.

There were also two Honorable Mentions provided.

The first is to LTG Associates for "Pastors at Risk: Toward an Improved Culture of Health for United Methodist Clergy in North Carolina." Several members of the team are WAPA members.

An Honorable Mention also went to Federico Cintrón-Moscoso, working with the Centro Para La Conservación Del Paisaje (Center for Landscape Conservation) in Puerto Rico, for the project “Public Participation in the Revision of El Yunque National Forest Management Plan."

Information on all the awardees and their projects is found on this website at 


WAPA would like to express deep appreciation for the tremendous amount of work done by the three 2015 Praxis Award jurors, who thoroughly examined many applications and provided thoughtful comments and ratings:

Michael Agar established the MAA program at U Maryland, has authored several books, and runs his own consulting firm, Ethnoworks.

Dominique Desjeux, professor emeritus in the Anthropology Department at the Sarbonne in Paris, founded a French social anthropology professional network called AnthroPik, and runs an international consulting firm, Daize and Co.

Tracy Meerward Pester, a business anthropologist who worked as a contractor for General Motors for several years, has worked in recent years to modernize anthropological ethics statements to more closely align with the actual work done by practicing anthropologists.

The 2015 Praxis Committee consists of Shirley Buzzard, Jenny Masur, Stan Yoder, and Terry Redding (chair).

(c) 2023 Washington Association of Professional Anthropologists
Contact WAPADC with questions or comments (including broken links)

Site Map

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software