2017 Praxis Award Recipients

08 Dec 2017 8:30 PM | Terry Redding

WAPA would like to congratulate the five recipients of the 2017 Praxis Award. There was one first place award, and four honorable mentions (typically, a maximum of four awards are presented). This was a very competitive year, reflecting the tremendous value of the work being done by anthropologists. The awards were presented on December 1, 2017, in Washington, DC, immediately following the business meeting of the National Association for the Practice of Anthropology as part of the American Anthropological Association annual meeting.

The 2017 Praxis Award recipient is Luisa Cortesi, Yale University, for the competition entry, “Dug-well Revival: Tradition, Knowledge, and Equity in Drinking Water in North Bihar, India.”

Honorable Mentions were presented to the following:

Cathleen Crain, Nathaniel Tashima, Reiko Ishihara-Brito, and Erick Lee Cummings, LTG Associates, Inc., for the project: "A Video Ethnographic Study: Raising Healthy Children in Poverty and Examples of Excellence in Addressing Childhood Wellness."

Adam B. Seligman, Rahel R. Wasserfall, and David W. Montgomery, CEDAR (Communities Engaging with Difference and Religion) Program, for the project: "Learning to Live with Difference: Taking Anthropology Out of the Classroom and Into the World."

Thurka Sangaramoorthy, U of Maryland, and the Project Team, for the project: "Marcellus Shale Public Health Study."

Olive M. Minor, International Rescue Committee (current), for the project: "Socio-cultural Barriers and Enablers in the Ebola Response."

Additional information about the awardees and their projects can be found under the Praxis Award link on this site (use the drop down menu under the "Professional Anthropology" link near the top of the page.)

(c) 2023 Washington Association of Professional Anthropologists
Contact WAPADC with questions or comments (including broken links)

Site Map

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software